CIEQB is a R&D unit in Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology whose aims are:

  • to carry out technological and scientific research of experimental and theoretical nature in the fields of Chemical Engineering, Bioengineering, Chemistry, Biochemistry, Material Photo-physics and Molecular Electronic as well as to promote interdisciplinary interactions between these scientific areas.
  • to promote multidisciplinary collaboration with other national and international scientific and technological research units.
  • to provide training of M.Sc. and Ph. D. students as well as participation in graduate programs.
  • to implement advanced postgraduate courses, services to the community and participation in activities of scientific divulgation.
    This Unit obtained the FCT base funds during the period 2004-2006. It has a Scientific Committee which consists of nine integrated Ph.D. members and an Executive Committee composed of three Ph.D. members as follows:

    President: Amin Karmali;
    Vice-Presidents: António Velez Marques;
      José Virgílio Prata.

    The Unit is organized in three sub-projects as follows:
  • Supercritical fluids and biomass valorisation;
  • Calyxarenes;
  • Biocatalysis;
    CIEQB Regulations (in Portuguese)
    Professor Ana Lobo - Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia da Universidade Nova de Lisboa
    Professor António Palavra - Instituto Superior Técnico da Universidade Técnica de Lisboa
    Professor João Queiroz - Universidade da Beira Interior